The Arthur Lewis Lab for Comparative Development

The Arthur Lewis Lab is a new interdisciplinary research group in economic history and comparative development at The University of Manchester.

1st October 1979: The Nobel Prize winner for Economic Science, Sir Arthur Lewis. (Photo by Keystone/Getty Images)
1st October 1979: The Nobel Prize winner for Economic Science, Sir Arthur Lewis. (Photo by Keystone/Getty Images)

The lab will promote cutting-edge research on economic growth and development, political economy, and cultural economics from a long-run historical perspective. Our aim is to become a leading centre for the study of big questions in these fields, building on the legacy of our association with the late Nobel laureate Arthur Lewis.

The group is led by Nuno Palma (director) and Guillaume Blanc (deputy director), and includes members from across the University, in particular from the Department of Economics, where the lab is based, the Department of History, and the Alliance Manchester Business School (AMBS), as well as external affiliates.


For more news relating to our research lab, visit our Twitter page or subscribe to our mailing list.


Our people


  • Nuno Palma - Director, Arthur Lewis Lab and Professor of Economics
  • Guillaume Blanc - Deputy Director, Arthur Lewis Lab and Lecturer in Economics

Faculty members

External members

Students and postgraduate researchers


To keep up to date with our events, you can subscribe to our calendar (ical).

Public Lectures


Keynote speakers: Stephen Broadberry (Oxford) and Richard von Glahn (UCLA)

Keynote speakers: James A. Robinson (Chicago) and Walter Scheidel (Stanford)

Keynote speakers: Michela Giorcelli (UCLA) and John Van Reenen (LSE & MIT)

Graduate Student Workshop

Faculty participants: Lydia Assouad (LSE), Guillaume Blanc (Manchester), Dan Bogart (UC Irvine), James Fenske (Warwick), Soeren Henn (Newcastle), Yuzuru Kumon (NHH), Sebastian Ottinger (CERGE-EI), Nuno Palma (Manchester), and James Robinson (Chicago)

Job Market Seminars

  • Jordi Caum Julio (Barcelona) - 9 January 2023
  • Gianni Marciante (Warwick) - 9 January 2023
  • Daniela Sola (CEMFI) - 10 January 2023
  • Peiyuan Li (Colorado Boulder) - 10 January 2023


  • Brian Varian (Newcastle) - 5 October 2022
  • Richard von Glahn (UCLA) - 27 October 2022
  • Luz Marina Arias (Sheffield) - 24 November 2022
  • Catherine Casson (Manchester) - 12 January 2023
  • John Wallis (Maryland) - 19 January 2023
  • Sean Bottomley (Northumbria) - 23 February 2023
  • Thilo Huning (York) - 9 March 2023
  • James Robinson (Chicago) - 22 March 2023 (MES)
  • Edmond Smith (Manchester) - 6 April 2023
  • David Weil (Brown) - 3 May 2023 (MES)
  • André Silva (Nova SBE) - 4 May 2023
  • Melanie Xue (LSE) - 11 May 2023
  • Soeren Henn (Newcastle) - 18 May 2023
  • Eric Chaney (Oxford) - 8 June 2023
  • Xiaobing Wang (Manchester) - 22 June 2023