Search
Search type

School of Social Sciences

Student cycling past Arthur Lewis building

Contact us

Contact the School of Social Sciences by email, telephone or through one of our social media channels.

Contact details

The School of Social Sciences
Arthur Lewis Building 
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL

Tel: +44 (0)161 306 1340

Find us

Admissions enquiries

The admissions teams are happy to answer your questions, whether you're applying or are already a student with us. 

Undergraduate enquiries

  • Amanda Grimshaw
    Undergraduate Admissions Manager 
    Email: amanda.grimshaw@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4748
  • Kirsty Egerton
    Senior Admissions Secretary
    Email: kirsty.egerton@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2291
  • Anna Bakhda
    Admissions Assistant 
    Email: anna.bakhda@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1473 
  • Sam Hook
    Management Information Assistant
    Email: sam.hook@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4470
  • Tom McCunnie
    UG Admissions Tutor and Outreach Co-ordinator
    Email: tom.mccunnie@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1752 

Postgraduate enquiries

  • Vicky Barnes
    Postgraduate Admissions Manager
    Email: vicky.barnes@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4743
  • Janet Smith
    Postgraduate Admissions Secretary
    Email: janet.a.smith@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4471 (Monday-Friday, 8.00am-3.30pm)
  • Zoe Woodend
    Postgraduate Admissions Secretary
    Email: zoe.woodend@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1296 (Monday-Friday, 8.00am-4.00pm)

Research enquiries

Research support team 

The research support team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards, including:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements;
  • preparing budgets;
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University;
  • supporting internal peer review processes;
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts;
  • arranging internal ethics screening;
  • providing management information on applications and awards. 

Research Support Managers also provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees. 

Contacts 

Research support officers 

Undergraduate students

Our teams are on-hand to offer guidance and support.

We advise on all aspects of Undergraduate student life, from course work queries to pastoral care.

Amanda Brereton
Head of Undergraduate Administration
Email: amanda.brereton@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4745

Paul Smith
Head of Student Support Services
Email: paul.v.smith@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4746

Student Welfare Officers

Joseph Barrett
Email: joseph.barrett@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4320

Philippa Wilson
Email: philippa.wilson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4878

Contacts within each area of study

BA(Econ)

Shau Chan
Programme Administrator
Email: shau.y.chan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2500

Bernadette Julien
Programme Secretary
Email: bernadette.Julien@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4822

BA Social Sciences (BASS)

Rabia Nawaz
Programme Administrator
Email: rabia.nawaz@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3204

Economics

Alexandra Collins
Undergraduate Administrator & Disability Co-ordinator
Email: alexandra.collins@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4868

Programme Administrator
Email: @manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1297

Matthew Regan
Undergraduate and International Exchange Assistant
Email: matthew.regan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4935

BA Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)

Joshua Muldoon
Deputy Head of Undergraduate Administration and Programme Administrator
Email: joshua.muldoon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4321

Philosophy

Christopher Ashworth
Programme Administrator
Email: christopher.ashworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129

Politics

Luke Smith
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: luke.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 6906

Dagme Tesfaye
Undergraduate Assistant
Email: dagme.tesfaye@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2499

Social Anthropology

Kellie Jordan
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: kellie.jordan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4000

Social Statistics

Christopher Ashworth
Course Unit Administrator
Email: christopher.ashworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129

Sociology

Chantel Riley
Programme Administrator
Email: chantel.riley@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3953

Postgraduate students

The postgraduate office is on the 2nd floor of the Arthur Lewis building. Visit us from 8.30am-4.30pm (Monday-Friday). 

  • Bernadette O'Connor
    Head of Postgraduate Services
    Email: bernadette.o'connor@manchester.ac.uk
  • Amanda Bridgeman
    Deputy Head of Postgraduate Services
    Programme Administrator for Politics and Political Economy
    Email: amanda.bridgeman@manchester.ac.uk
  • Jill Chandler
    Postgraduate Disability Support Officer and Programme Administrator in Economics
    Email: jill.chandler@manchester.ac.uk
  • Vickie Roche
    Postgraduate Taught Programmes Administrator, Social/Visual Anthropology and Sociology
    Email: vickie.roche@manchester.ac.uk
  • Kimberley Hulme
    Enquiries about finance 
    Email: kimberley.hulme@manchester.ac.uk
  • Marie Waite
    Postgraduate Research Programmes Administrator
    Economics, Social Statistics, Social Change, CMI, Social Anthropology
    Email: marie.waite@manchester.ac.uk
  • Ann Cronley
    Postgraduate Research Programmes Administrator
    Philosophy, Politics and Sociology
    Email: ann.cronley@manchester.ac.uk
  • Thomas Jenkins
    PGR/PGT Receptionist
    Email: thomas.jenkins@manchester.ac.uk