Contact us

Contact the School of Social Sciences by email, telephone or through one of our social media channels.

Contact details

The School of Social Sciences
Arthur Lewis Building 
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL

Tel: +44 (0)161 306 1340

Find us

Admissions enquiries

Undergraduate enquiries

Subject discipline:

  • Law

Contact: ug-law@manchester.ac.uk

  • Criminology 
  • Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Politics
  • Sociology
  • Social Anthropology
  • Social Statistics 

Contact: socialsciences@manchester.ac.uk

Postgraduate taught enquiries

Subject discipline:

  • Law

Contact: pg.law@manchester.ac.uk  

  • Criminology 
  • Economics
  • Philosophy
  • Politics
  • Sociology
  • Social Anthropology
  • Social Statistics 

Contact: pg-soss@manchester.ac.uk

Postgraduate research enquiries

Contact: research.soss@manchester.ac.uk

Research enquiries

Research support team 

The research support team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards, including:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements;
  • preparing budgets;
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University;
  • supporting internal peer review processes;
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts;
  • arranging internal ethics screening;
  • providing management information on applications and awards. 

Research Support Managers also provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees. 

Contacts 

Research support officers 

Undergraduate students

Our teams are on-hand to offer guidance and support.

We advise on all aspects of Undergraduate student life, from course work queries to pastoral care.

Amanda Brereton
Head of Undergraduate Administration
Email: abi.robinson@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel:

Abi Robinson
Teaching, Learning and Student Experience Manager
Email: amanda.brereton@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel:

Paul Smith
Head of Student Support Services
Email: paul.v.smith@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Student Welfare Officers

Joseph Barrett
Email: joseph.barrett@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Philippa Wilson
Email: philippa.wilson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Contacts within each area of study

BA(Econ)

Shau Chan
Programme Administrator
Email: baecon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Elliot Henderson
Programme Secretary
Email: baecon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

BA Social Sciences (BASS)

Rabia Nawaz
Programme Administrator
Email: bass@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Paige Bayliss
Programme Secretary
Email: bass@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Economics

Matthew Regan 
Undergraduate Administrator & Disability Co-ordinator
Email: matthew.regan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Julie Tierney 
Programme Administrator
Email: julie.tierney@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Nazia Haque
Undergraduate and International Exchange Assistant
Email: nazia.haque@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Law and Criminology

Taniqua West
UG Student Experience Administrator (first year) 
Email: taniqua.west@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Katy Anthony
UG Student Experience Administrator (second year)
Email: katy.anthony@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

UG Student Experience Administrator (final year)
Email: @manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

BA Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)

Sarah Longhurst
Deputy Head of Undergraduate Administration and Programme Administrator
Email: sarah.longhurst@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Philosophy

Julie Heynes
Programme Administrator
Email: julieann.heynes@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Politics

Luke Smith
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: luke.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Olivia Bradshaw
Undergraduate Assistant
Email: olivia.bradshaw@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Social Anthropology

Bryony Onions
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: bryony.onions@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Social Statistics

Julie Heynes
Course Unit Administrator
Email: julieann.heynes@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Sociology

Julia Taylor
Programme Administrator
Email: julia.taylor-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Postgraduate students

For enquiries from current students:

Bernadette O'Connor
Head of Postgraduate Services
Email: bernadette.o'connor@manchester.ac.uk

Myra Knutton
Disability Advice and Support Services Coordinator and Postgraduate Student Experience Programmes Officer including finance queries
Email: myra.knutton@manchester.ac.uk
Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8am-4pm

Amanda Bridgeman
Deputy Head of Postgraduate Services
Programme Administrator for Politics and Philosophy
Email: amanda.bridgeman@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am - 4pm

Vickie Roche
Postgraduate Taught Programmes Administrator (MA/MSc/Diploma)
Social Anthropology/Visual Anthropology and Sociology
Email: vickie.roche@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Tues 8:30am-3:30pm, Wed - Fri 9:30am-2:30pm

Kimberley Hulme
Administrator for Postgraduate Taught Programmes in Economics and for general enquiries from current students regarding finance issues
Email: kimberley.hulme@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8am-3.30pm

Ann Cronley
Postgraduate Research Programmes (PhD/MPhil) Administrator
Research Programmes in Philosophy, Politics, Sociology and Social Anthropology
Email: ann.cronley@manchester.ac.uk

Jackie Boardman
PGR Programmes in Law, BMJ, Criminology, Economics, Social Statistics, Data Analytics and Society and Soc-B CDT
Email: Jackie.Boardman@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Thurs 9am-5pm

Leanne Tuite
HCEL Distance Learning & CPD Administrator
Email: leanne.tuite@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3669

Nuria Hortiguelaloeches
PGT Criminology and HCEL (campus-based) Student Experience Administrator
Email: nuria.hortiguela@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 44 (0)161 275 3561

Louise Bellamy
LLM Student Experience Administrator (PGT)
Email: louise.bellamy@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7553

Elisabeth McCormick
Data Science/Social Research Methods & Statistics
Email: elisabeth.mccormick@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am-4.30pm

Sidra Zara
Postgraduate Administration Assistant.
Email: sidra.zara@manchester.ac.uk
Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am-4.30pm

Serena Robinson
Postgraduate Intern
Email: serena.robinson@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 9.00pm-5.00pm