Contact us

Contact the School of Social Sciences by email, telephone or through one of our social media channels.

Contact details

The School of Social Sciences
Arthur Lewis Building 
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL

Tel: +44 (0)161 306 1340

Find us

Admissions enquiries

You can find the most relevant email address for the course you are interested in on the contact details section of our individual course web pages. 

Postgraduate-taught admissions enquiries:
You can find the most relevant email address for the course you are interested in on the contact details section of our individual course web pages.

Research enquiries

Research support team 

The research support team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards, including:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements;
  • preparing budgets;
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University;
  • supporting internal peer review processes;
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts;
  • arranging internal ethics screening;
  • providing management information on applications and awards. 

Research Support Managers also provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees. 

Contacts 

Research support officers 

Undergraduate students

Our teams are on-hand to offer guidance and support.

We advise on all aspects of Undergraduate student life, from coursework queries to pastoral care.

Amanda Brereton
Head of Undergraduate Administration
Email: amanda.brereton@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4745 (normally on campus on Tuesday and Thursday)

Abi Robinson
Teaching, Learning and Student Experience Manager
Email: abi.robinson@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3560 (normally on campus on Wednesday and Friday)

Ian Glassey
Head of Student Support Services
Email: ian.glassey@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Student Welfare Officers

Joseph Barrett
Email: joseph.barrett@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Philippa Wilson
Email: philippa.wilson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Contacts within each area of study

BA(Econ)

Shau Chan
Programme Administrator
Email: baecon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2500 (normally on campus on Tuesday and Thursday)

Elliot Henderson
Programme Secretary
Email: baecon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)161 306 2182 (normally on campus on Thursday and Friday)

BA Social Sciences (BASS)

Rabia Nawaz
Programme Administrator
Email: bass@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3204 (normally on campus on Monday and Tuesday)

Paige Bayliss
Programme Secretary
Email: bass@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3204 (normally on campus on Monday and Tuesday)

Economics

Matthew Regan 
Undergraduate Administrator & Disability Co-ordinator
Email: matthew.regan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4868 (normally on campus on Monday and Wednesday)

Julie Tierney 
Programme Administrator
Email: julie.tierney@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1297 (normally on campus on Tuesday)

Nazia Haque
Undergraduate and International Exchange Assistant
Email: nazia.haque@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 161 275 4935 (normally on campus on Tuesday and Wednesday)

Law and Criminology

Taniqua West
UG Student Experience Administrator (first year) 
Email: taniqua.west@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

Katy Anthony
UG Student Experience Administrator (second year)
Email: katy.anthony@manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

UG Student Experience Administrator (final year)
Email: @manchester.ac.uk
Tel:

BA Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)

Sarah Longhurst
Deputy Head of Undergraduate Administration and Programme Administrator
Email: sarah.longhurst@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4321 (normally on campus on Monday and Tuesday) 

Philosophy

Julie Heynes
Programme Administrator
Email: julieann.heynes@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129 (normally on campus on Tuesday and Friday)

Politics

Luke Smith
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: luke.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 6906 (normally on campus on Wednesday and Thursday)

Toby Walkland
Undergraduate Assistant
Email: toby.walkland@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2499 (normally on campus on (Wednesday and Friday)

Social Anthropology

Oliva Bradshaw
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: olivia.bradshaw@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44(0)161 (normally on campus on Thursday and Friday)

Social Statistics

Julie Heynes
Course Unit Administrator
Email: julieann.heynes@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129 (normally on campus on Tuesday and Friday)

Sociology

Julia Taylor
Programme Administrator
Email: julia.taylor-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3953 (not on campus at present)

Postgraduate students

View the postgraduate Contact us page on the Student intranet.