Contact us

Contact the School of Social Sciences by email, telephone or through one of our social media channels.

Contact details

The School of Social Sciences
Arthur Lewis Building 
The University of Manchester
Oxford Road
Manchester
M13 9PL

Tel: +44 (0)161 306 1340

Find us

Admissions enquiries

The admissions teams are happy to answer your questions, whether you're applying or are already a student with us. 

Undergraduate enquiries

  • Amanda Grimshaw
    Undergraduate Admissions Manager 
    Email: amanda.grimshaw@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4748
  • Kirsty Egerton
    Senior Admissions Secretary
    Email: kirsty.egerton@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2291
  • Anna Bakhda
    Admissions Assistant 
    Email: anna.bakhda@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1473 
  • Sam Hook
    Management Information Assistant
    Email: sam.hook@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4470
  • Tom McCunnie
    UG Admissions Tutor and Outreach Co-ordinator
    Email: tom.mccunnie@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1752 

Postgraduate enquiries

  • Vicky Barnes
    Postgraduate Admissions Manager
    Email: vicky.barnes@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4743
  • Janet Smith
    Postgraduate Admissions Secretary
    Email: janet.a.smith@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4471 (Monday-Friday, 8.00am-3.30pm)
  • Zoe Woodend
    Postgraduate Admissions Secretary
    Email: zoe.woodend@manchester.ac.uk
    Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1296 (Monday-Friday, 8.00am-4.00pm)

Research enquiries

Research support team 

The research support team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards, including:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements;
  • preparing budgets;
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University;
  • supporting internal peer review processes;
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts;
  • arranging internal ethics screening;
  • providing management information on applications and awards. 

Research Support Managers also provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees. 

Contacts 

Research support officers 

Undergraduate students

Our teams are on-hand to offer guidance and support.

We advise on all aspects of Undergraduate student life, from course work queries to pastoral care.

Amanda Brereton
Head of Undergraduate Administration
Email: amanda.brereton@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4745

Paul Smith
Head of Student Support Services
Email: paul.v.smith@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4746

Student Welfare Officers

Joseph Barrett
Email: joseph.barrett@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4320

Philippa Wilson
Email: philippa.wilson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4878

Contacts within each area of study

BA(Econ)

Shau Chan
Programme Administrator
Email: shau.y.chan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2500

Bernadette Julien
Programme Secretary
Email: bernadette.Julien@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4822

BA Social Sciences (BASS)

Rabia Nawaz
Programme Administrator
Email: rabia.nawaz@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3204

Economics

Alexandra Collins
Undergraduate Administrator & Disability Co-ordinator
Email: alexandra.collins@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4868

Programme Administrator
Email: @manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 1297

Matthew Regan
Undergraduate and International Exchange Assistant
Email: matthew.regan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4935

BA Politics, Philosophy and Economics (PPE)

Joshua Muldoon
Deputy Head of Undergraduate Administration and Programme Administrator
Email: joshua.muldoon@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 4321

Philosophy

Christopher Ashworth
Programme Administrator
Email: christopher.ashworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129

Politics

Luke Smith
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: luke.smith-2@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 6906

Dagme Tesfaye
Undergraduate Assistant
Email: dagme.tesfaye@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 2499

Social Anthropology

Kellie Jordan
Undergraduate Administrator
Email: kellie.jordan@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4000

Social Statistics

Christopher Ashworth
Course Unit Administrator
Email: christopher.ashworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7129

Sociology

Chantel Riley
Programme Administrator
Email: chantel.riley@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3953

Postgraduate students

For enquiries from current students:

Bernadette O'Connor
Head of Postgraduate Services
Email: bernadette.o'connor@manchester.ac.uk

Myra Knutton
Disability Advice and Support Services Coordinator and Postgraduate Student Experience Programmes Officer including finance queries
Email: myra.knutton@manchester.ac.uk
Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8am-4pm

Amanda Bridgeman
Deputy Head of Postgraduate Services
Programme Administrator for Politics and Philosophy
Email: amanda.bridgeman@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am - 4pm

Vickie Roche
Postgraduate Taught Programmes Administrator (MA/MSc/Diploma)
Social Anthropology/Visual Anthropology and Sociology
Email: vickie.roche@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Tues 8:30am-3:30pm, Wed - Fri 9:30am-2:30pm

Kimberley Hulme
Administrator for Postgraduate Taught Programmes in Economics and for general enquiries from current students regarding finance issues
Email: kimberley.hulme@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8am-3.30pm

Ann Cronley
Postgraduate Research Programmes (PhD/MPhil) Administrator
Research Programmes in Philosophy, Politics, Sociology and Social Anthropology
Email: ann.cronley@manchester.ac.uk

Jackie Boardman
PGR Programmes in Law, BMJ, Criminology, Economics, Social Statistics, Data Analytics and Society and Soc-B CDT
Email: Jackie.Boardman@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Thurs 9am-5pm

Leanne Tuite
HCEL Distance Learning & CPD Administrator
Email: leanne.tuite@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 3669

Nuria Hortiguelaloeches
PGT Criminology and HCEL (campus-based) Student Experience Administrator
Email: nuria.hortiguela@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: 44 (0)161 275 3561

Louise Bellamy
LLM Student Experience Administrator (PGT)
Email: louise.bellamy@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7553

Elisabeth McCormick
Data Science/Social Research Methods & Statistics
Email: elisabeth.mccormick@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am-4.30pm

Sidra Zara
Postgraduate Administration Assistant.
Email: sidra.zara@manchester.ac.uk
Office Hours: Mon - Fri 8.30am-4.30pm

Serena Robinson
Postgraduate Intern
Email: serena.robinson@manchester.ac.uk
Office hours: Mon - Fri 9.00pm-5.00pm