Search type

Political Economy Institute

academics at the Arthur Lewis centenary event

Our people

Our work brings together researchers, associates, and international colleagues who specialise in the field of political economy.

Directors and steering committee


Steering committee

  • Prof Noel Castree (Geography – School of Environment, Education and Development)
  • Prof Wendy Olsen (Social Statistics - School of Social Sciences)
  • Dr Stuart Shields (Politics - School of Social Sciences)
  • Prof Erik Swyngedouw (Geography – School of Environment, Education and Development)
  • Prof Karen Sykes (Social Anthropology – School of Social Sciences)

PEI associates

School of Social Sciences

School of Environment, Education and Development

Alliance Manchester Business School

School of Law

International advisory board

  • Richard Appelbaum (Professor of Sociology and Global and International Studies, University of California at Santa Barbara)
  • Geoffrey Brennan (Professor of Philosophy, Australian National University)
  • Robin Cohen (Professor of Sociology, University of Warwick)
  • Andrew Gamble (Professor of Politics, Cambridge University)
  • Gerald Epstein (Professor of Economics, University of Massachussetts Amherst)
  • Sanford Jacoby (Howard Noble Professor of Management, UCLA Anderson)
  • Arjo Klamer (Professor of the Economics of Art and Culture, Erasmus University)
  • Joan Martinez-Alier (Professor of Economics, Universitat Autonoma de Barcelona)
  • Tony Payne (Professor of Politics, University of Sheffield)
  • Jamie Peck (Professor of Geography, University of Wisconsin-Madison)
  • John Ravenhill (Professor of International Political Economy, Australian National University)
  • Diana Tussie (Professor, FLACSO/Argentina)
  • Robert Wade (Professor of Political Economy, London School of Economics and Political

Simon Industrial and Professional Fellows