Affiliate and Visiting members

In addition to our permanent members of staff, we are proud to connect with affiliate members and welcome visiting members to the Manchester International Law Centre to contribute to our work.

Affiliate members

  • Isil Aral
  • Valentina Azarov
  • Antal Berkes
  • Philip Burton
  • Sara de Vido
  • Shavana Musa
  • Ibrahim Olabi
  • Elena Pineros Polo
  • Mario Prost
  • David Rossati


  • Mariela Apostolaki
  • Cara Banerji-Parker
  • Martin Browne
  • Carina Calabria
  • Jessica Carlisle
  • Rodrigo Cespedes
  • Thanapat Chatinakrob
  • Olga Chetverikova
  • Cecilia Florese
  • Gianluca Gentili
  • Lala Ireland
  • Antoine Kabore
  • Michael Lancaster Steiner
  • Stephen Lewis
  • Thibault Moulin
  • Wim Muller
  • Tine Munk
  • Ibrahim Olabi (Fellow)
  • Elizabeth O’Loughlin
  • Ugo Orazulike
  • Maria Smirnova
  • Loredana Tassone
  • Maruša Veber

Visiting members

The Manchester International Law Centre welcomes academic visitors to Manchester. Visiting academics and PhD researchers are a key part of our community at Manchester. The period of stay is usually from eight weeks to a year.

Visitors come to conduct their own research in an inclusive and intellectually curious environment. There are opportunities to meet other scholars based at Manchester and are welcome to participate in the Centre’s activities. Visitors are also invited to share their research.

Those interested in applying should email us with their research objectives and expression of interest. If your research falls within the remit of the Centre, further guidance will be sent. Please note that the work of the Centre is conducted in English and evidence of proficiency will be required. Students whose first language is not English should hold a minimum overall score of 7 or a IBT-TOEFL score of 100. Please note there is a bench fee to assist in covering the cost of providing facilities, including computers, libraries and desk space.

Our former visiting members include:

  • Valentina Azarov
  • Mariona Cardona Valles (PhD)
  • Sufyan El Droubi
  • Antoine Kaboré
  • Dan Joyner
  • Eleni Methymaki
  • John Pearson
  • Akbar Rasulov