Search
Search type

School of Social Sciences

Research contacts

School Research Director
Prof Brian Heaphy
Email: brian.heaphy@manchester.ac.uk

Research Support Manager 
Gillian Whitworth
Email: gillian.whitworth@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 7366

Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer
Carly Chadwick
Email: carly.chadwick@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4685 

Grant Writer
Simon Challis
Email: simon.challis@manchester.ac.uk 
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 2652

Research Support Officers

Susie Chesher (Social Statistics  - including CMIST -  and Social Anthropology) 
Email: susie.chesher@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 306 3132

Jess Napthine-Hodgkinson (Sociology and Politics) 
Email: jess.napthine-hodgkinson@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 6062

Elena (Aly) Goncharova (Philosophy and Economics) 
Email: elena.goncharova@manchester.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0)161 275 4691

About the research support team

The Research Support Team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards.

Its remit includes:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements
  • preparing budgets
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University
  • supporting internal peer review processes
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts
  • arranging internal ethics screening
  • providing management information on applications and awards.

Research Support Managers also provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees. They form part of the Faculty Management Team for the delivery of research services.