Search type

School of Social Sciences

Academy of Social Sciences Fellowships for four University academics

20 October 2017

Four academics from the Faculty of Humanities at the University of Manchester have been welcomed as Fellows of the Academy of Social Sciences.

The four new Fellows are:

  • Professor Claire Alexander, Professor of Sociology, School of Social Sciences;
  • Professor Colette Fagan, Vice-President for Research;
  • Professor Rachel Griffith CBE, Professor of Economics, School of Social Sciences;
  • Professor Vera Tolz, Sir William Mather Professor of Russian Studies, School of Arts, Languages and Cultures.

Fellows are drawn from academics, practitioners and policymakers across the social sciences. The new Fellows have been recognised after an extensive peer review process for the excellence and impact of their work using social science for public benefit.

Professor Roger Goodman, Chair of the Academy said: “Each new distinguished Fellow has been recognised for their outstanding and impactful contributions in their respective fields, and will prove invaluable additions to the range of expertise within the Academy.

“This speaks not only to the power and scope of the social sciences to address the big issues of our time, but also to the growing depth and breadth of representation within the Academy as the voice of the social science community as a whole.”

Return to the full list of news stories.