Search
Search type

School of Social Sciences

Research contacts

School Research Director
Prof Brian Heaphy
Email: brian.heaphy@manchester.ac.uk

Research Support Manager 
Gillian Whitworth
Email: gillian.whitworth@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 57366 

Knowledge Exchange and Impact Officer
Carly Chadwick
Email: carly.chadwick@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 54685 

Research Support Officers

Leonid Tarasov (Sociology, Sustainable Consumption Institute and Philosophy Lead)
Email: leonid.tarasov@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 50409 

Hannah Head (Economics and Politics Lead)
Email: hannah.head@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 54691 

Susie Chesher (Social Statistics (including CMIST) and Social Anthropology Lead)
Email: susie.chesher@manchester.ac.uk
Ext: 63132

About the research support team

Our team helps academic colleagues to prepare and submit funding applications and manage new awards.

Its remit includes:

  • understanding and explaining funder requirements;
  • preparing budgets;
  • formally submitting and accepting awards on behalf of the University;
  • supporting internal peer review processes;
  • coordinating approvals for new research staff appointments and contracts;
  • arranging internal ethics screening;
  • providing management information on applications and awards.

Research Support Managers additionally provide strategic research support to Heads of School, Directors of Research and School Research Committees and form part of the Faculty Management Team for the delivery of research services.